If as a Poet I did Pretend

If_as_a_poetIt’s a pitty
this ditty
I wish it had never been penned

It just will not finish
on my record a blemish
To my will the words just won’t bend

Of nothing else I can think
my brain ragged and pink
A helping hand no one will lend

They just don’t understand
why my life’s become bland
To this poem I can only tend

I try to do other things
but in my mind it still sings
For the nut-house they really should send

It’s just out of reach
help me please, I beseech
for myself I can no longer fend

I know it’s absurd
but I can’t find the right word
to give this poem a… something…

Fuck it, I give up.

One response to “If as a Poet I did Pretend

Leave a Reply

