2014 in Retrospect

As you all well know, if you are reading this, I usually keep this blog as a place of fiction and comics. Last year at this time, however, I got it into my head that it might be nice to talk a little bit about what’s happening in my life, for those that may be interested.
If you aren’t interested in my personal drivel, then take the week off from reading my stuff. If you are really hurting for a fix of Richard fiction, there are 95 other posts, most of which are fiction. I can’t imagine that there is anyone that has read them all (If I’m wrong about this let me know! You’ll get a prize!).

This year was… well… it was a year.
It was my first year with a smart phone, so endless hours disappeared to wherever those hours go. However, this also allowed me to become more active on Twitter. At the beginning of the year, I didn’t have many friends that also wrote. Now, because of Twitter, I have quite a few, many of which I cherish as close friends, though I’ve never met them in person, and have known them less than a year… which is strange.

I also made a few friends through wordpress, and I would trade them for nothing in the world.

As far as my writing goes…
I successfully posted at least once a week all year to my blog (this one!), and I’m fairly proud of most of what I put up.
I wrote the first draft of one novel, edited one other, and am in the process of editing another now, getting it ready for querying. The most exciting news of the year, however, is that during a pitch party on twitter, someone from Divertir Publishing expressed interest in my novel Harold and the Purple Wormhole. Long story short, check out their coming soon page.
I signed my contract in July, but I still can’t believe that I’m going to be published!!
No word yet on when the book will be coming out, but, trust me, once I know, EVERYONE will know.

This was my first full year in Graduate school. I’m working on my Master’s degree in Physics at San Diego State University. I’m doing some neat research involving properties of neutron stars as they spin down. In theory, I’ll be done with my degree at the end of this school year, at which time I’ll be out on the street looking for jobs teaching Physics or Astronomy at a community college.
If anyone has a suggestion for where I should apply, let me know!

My special lady and I are creeping up on 3 years together which has been wonderful beyond words. I adore her even more now than I did last year at this time, which I wasn’t sure was even possible. I could go on, but I fear it may get gushy and gross… and nobody wants to read that.

Thanks for another great year everyone!
May your new year bring you more curiosity than boredom, and reward your curiosity with wonder.20141224_154602

3 responses to “2014 in Retrospect

  1. I am guilty of reading only 10%… but it is 10%!! Good on ya for getting published! One of my goals for this coming year is to push 20% on Richard fiction. 🙂
    Aloha and happy new year…
    A

Leave a Reply

