7 facts

I was recently tagged by my twitter friend Mia Sandara (@triadvstrinity) in this blog hop thing with the following rules and intent:

“This blog hop is designed to show our readers a more personal side to ourselves. We’ve been challenged by another author/ blogger (somewhat like the ‘ice bucket’ challenge) to list seven interesting facts to help cast light onto that tough writer’s/blogger’s persona we all like to project. But we want to show that behind every story is a story, our story, my story, and like everyone else I have dreams, hobbies, problems and goals. This blog hop is a way to share some of them with you, my readers.

The rules are that I share 7 Lovely Facts about myself, and links to at least 15 blogs that I enjoy reading. If I’ve nominated your blog (see names below) please don’t feel any obligation to join in but, if you do, please link back to the blog of the person who nominated you…share facts about yourself and nominate 15 blogs (or as many as you can).”

Being a grumpy, sort of old man, I usually don’t do this sort of thing, but thought this one might be kind of fun… and if I didn’t respond to Mia’s request I feel that there’d be hell to pay. Her post can be found here: https://triadvstrinity.squarespace.com/blog/2014/12/29/blog-hop-7-facts-about-me
Mia is pretty rad, you should check her out.

This is my second post of the week, don’t worry, it won’t be replacing any fiction, just extra. Make sure to check out this week’s fiction, On a Leash (https://imasillypirate.wordpress.com/2015/01/06/on-a-leash/) especially if you are a dog lover. As always, there will be something new next Tuesday.

7 Facts about me:

1) I have two siblings, both older.
My brother is the oldest, my sister is in the middle. My sister is working on her PhD in Cognitive Science. My brother does DevOps for an internet security company. All three of us are pretty fantastic.

2) I can’t snap.
I’m not sure this needs an explanation, it just doesn’t happen. People try to teach me, they all say the same thing, “No, no, it’s easy, I’ll teach you!” then, at the end they give up because it just doesn’t work.

3) I can wiggle my ears.
When I was younger if I sat up straight while on the toilet I could see my face in the bathroom mirror. Naturally, I made faces at myself… all the time. One day I smacked my head and, for a few days, had a big lump on the top of my noggin. I noticed that certain facial expressions hurt. Thus, the next time I was on the toilet making faces at myself, I explored what parts of my head hurt to move. All of a sudden, my ears (and really my whole scalp) was flapping away.

4) Caffeine makes my heart beat irregularly.
As much as I love tea, I stick to herbals and whites. If I have anything with much more caffeine in it and my body freaks out. I know everyone’s body freaks out a little when they ingest caffeine, but my reaction is… not so little.

5) Most of you know that I’m a physics Grad student, but my area of interest is gravity.
I like general relativity. My senior project for my undergrad (at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo) was looking at Einstein’s field equations in lower dimensional systems and exploring a potential wormhole solution (If you are curious, you can find that project here: http://digitalcommons.calpoly.edu/physsp/65/ ). I also did a presentation about this work at an APS conference. The video of this presentation (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJT-vlgIN2Y) is pretty funny, because my computer crashes and I freak out.
My research for my Master’s thesis at San Diego State University involves looking into the properties of matter inside rotating neutron stars and how it changes as they slow down. No fun links for that yet, but in the next 6 months, there will be (better be). If I remember, I’ll add them as edits to this post.

6) “Dogs are my favorite people.”
The above quote from Jack O’Neill in Stargate SG1, I feel, is a two-fer as far as revealing information about me. If I had to pick a favorite TV show, it would have to be Stargate SG1. Also, I like dogs more than people, and am deeply saddened that dogs can’t read my blog on their own. Feel free to share it with them.

7) I often think in cartoon
If you could project the images that I see in my head onto a screen, you would find that many of them are cartoon. I only recently found out that this wasn’t how everyone thought. It might go a long way to explaining why I think certain things are funny while everyone around me stares at me slack-jawed and not in the least amused.

So, I was supposed to tag 15 other bloggers, but I’m not going to tag that many.
If you like my blog, I suggest you check out the 5 that I do tag.

Laura ( @elastword )
http://ecoslastword.blogspot.com/
Her response: http://ecoslastword.blogspot.com/2015/01/7-facts.html (It’s pretty funny, surprise, surprise.)

Mike ( @michaelsteeden )
http://mikesteeden.wordpress.com/

Danielle ( @Danielle_Urban2 )
http://universalcreativityinc14.wordpress.com/

Rena (@originallyrena )
http://renaolsen.com/

Dieter ( @dieterrogiers )
http://300stories.wordpress.com/

If you guys respond, let me know and I’ll link to the specific post here as well. If you don’t, it is totally okay. No pressure, I just figured you might enjoy the invitation to participate.

4 responses to “7 facts

Leave a Reply

