2016 in Retrospect

It’s that time of the year again! Time for Richard to talk about how his year went!

Musically, we lost a few greats, horrific and terrifying things happened in the world and in our country, and the next few years are going to bring changes that are hard to be excited about. But I also saw some good things happen and I saw a lot of people, driven by bad circumstances, coming together and standing up for what they believe in, which is both touching and encouraging.

Overall, though, 2016 was not a bad year for me personally.

I finally graduated with my Master’s degree in physics from San Diego State University (You can find my thesis here: http://sdsu-dspace.calstate.edu/handle/10211.3/165075).

I just finished my first semester teaching community college and I love it. Last semester I taught physics at Grossmont and Mira Costa Community Colleges, and I taught astronomy at San Diego City College. It was a little too much, but I survived, and I managed to both learn a lot and have a blast while doing so. For the coming semester, I had to scale it down a bit. I’m looking forward to teaching again at the last two schools that I listed above. It will be my second time teaching all the classes, the load will be more manageable, and I’ll be driving quite a bit less every week; I’m pretty excited.

I watched a few relationships crumble among people around me that I love and care about. It’s hard, but I don’t think it’s my place to discuss them here.

However, my special lady friend and I will have been together for 5 years in February. I’m an incredibly lucky man. She also graduated this year and has started teaching, so we are currently embarking now on a journey together into whatever it means to be working adults. I think I like it. I shudder to think how lost I’d be now, or how lost I would continue to get without her.

I didn’t quite finish any novels this year, but I edited a lot, wrote a bunch of short stories that I am very proud of, did some fun drawings, and made quite a few groan-worthy jokes. 2016 has set me up well to query like a madman in the next year… so if you’re a literary agent, keep an eye on your inbox because HERE I COME!

I got to read a few amazing books, some of which were even written by my friends… which is super-fucking-rad.

Many new amazing friends found their way into my life, I got closer to others, and lost touch with a few. I don’t say it often enough, but I’m so thankful for my friends, you have no idea what you do to hold me together mentally. You know who you are; thank you.

I’m also thankful for the continued health of my family. There’s not much to say about this, which is the best thing I can imagine.

The year goes out like a receding wave as another prepares to crash upon us. Will it push us further up the beach? Will we be carried out to sea? Or maybe we’ll just get knocked around a bit and find ourselves in the exact same location. For me, there’s nothing to do but brace for the next crash and, while watching the last pull away, appreciate where it left me for now.

Thanks for the year, everyone!

Leave a Reply

